Australian Open Venue

In 1972, Melbourne was selected as the permanent home of the Australian Open, which had previously visited numerous cities over its history. The local Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club was used to begin with but the tournament soon outgrew its facilities and a Flinders Park venue was built for the 1988 event.

The Rod Laver Arena There were further enhancements in 1996, when the venue changed its name to Melbourne Park and both the re-worked centre court and the new Vodafone Arena officially opened in 2000.

The centre-court was renamed The Rod Laver Arena in 2000, after the legendary Australian player of the 1960s and 1970s, who was recently voted the male player of the century. The superb stadia at Melbourne Park make it one of the most modern, well-equipped tennis venues in the world. In fact, it is the only Grand Slam host with two stadia with retractable roofs.

Melbourne Park can also boast the highest number of show court seats (excluding centre court) of the Grand Slam venues, at over 22,000.

Although the Australian Open has only taken place at Melbourne Park for just over a decade, the two are now synonymous with Australian tennis. Always host to a great event, Melbourne Park will continue to deliver thrilling tennis tournaments for many years to come.