The 3 Greatest Australian Open Champions

2009 will be Roger Federer’s chance to match the record set by Andre Agassi – to win four Australiain Open titles.

The 2008 Australian Open tennis tournament saw the Swiss world number one being defeated by Novak Djokovic and missing an opportunity to become the joint most successful men’s singles player in the open-era history of the Australian Open.

Had Federer claimed the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup for the fourth time at the 2008 tournament, he would’ve become the only men’s singles player in the open era to have lifted the trophy in three consecutive years.

While the recent exploits of Federer are fresh in the minds of many tennis fans, the feats of those he is set to surpass may have faded from memory.

Here, then, is a look back at three of the greatest Australian Open champions of all time.

Roy Emerson: 1961, 1963-67

Although Roy Emerson forged his reputation prior to the advent of professional tennis and the open era, it is impossible to dismiss his incredible achievements at the Australian Open. His record of six Australian Open titles, including a run of 5 consecutive titles between 1963 and 1967, are unlikely to be matched in the modern era.

Emerson is also credited with achieving success during a period when Australian tennis was at its most competitive, featuring the likes of Rod Laver and Ken Rosewall. During his career Roy Emerson captured another 6 grand slam titles besides his Australian Open victories, giving him a career total of 12 grand slams that was only surpassed by Pete Sampras in 2000.

Mats Wilander: 1983-84, 1988

Swede Mats Wilander was a dominant force in world tennis during the late 1980s. He is best remembered for his brilliant form in 1988 which saw him claim three of the four grand slams on tour.

The gifted Swedish player bagged three Australian Open titles during his career, with his two consecutive titles in 1983 and 1984 making him the joint record holder for successive Australian Open wins.

Mats Wilander’s greatest triumph at the Australian Open came in 1988 when he defeated Stefan Edberg in a marathon 5 set semi-final, before downing Australian Pat Cash in another exhausting 5 setter in the final.

Andre Agassi: 1995, 2000-01, 2003

Andre Agassi’ s record makes him the greatest Australian Open Champion of the open era. Agassi claimed four Australian Open titles during his career, also matching the record for two consecutive Australian Open wins in 200 and 2001.

Agassi is recognised as the only player in history to have won all four grand slams on three different surfaces. Loved for his style, tenacity and humility, Agassi is also the only male singles player in history to have won a Career Gold Slam – all four grand slams plus an Olympic gold during a career.